jQuery UI Menu - Default functionality
@ Themes By Calli

The Astrological Ages

The Great Ages of Astrology

A Simple Summary of the Ages

One more on the Ages

Tag: ages

Click here for more!

  #zodiac    #astrology    #links    #ages  

One more on the Ages:

When astrologers speak about the Age of Aquarius they are describing a phenomenon that refers to the earth’s movement backward (or in “retrograde” motion) into the sign of Aquarius. As you know, there are 11 other signs of the zodiac — the earth will retrograde in each one. It will take the earth 25,868 years to visit all 12 signs. If you divide 25,868 by 12 signs, you will get roughly 2,100 years to a particular “age”. Thus, once the Age of Aquarius is upon us (and many astrologers, myself included, feel we have reached this point) it will stay the Age of Aquarius for two thousand years. The “precession of the zodiac” that underlies this principal was first discovered by the Greek astronomer Hipparchus of Nicaea (c. 190 - c. 120 BC). It is due to a slight wobble in the earth’s rotation. The precession of the zodiac is a term that describes the constellation that lies behind the Sun at the vernal equinox, which changes gradually over time. Rather than negate the dates of the Sun signs, this precession adds a unique tone of character to each of the signs. But classical astrologers do not feel the precession of the zodiac changes the inherent qualities of the signs.

The age before the Age of Aquarius was the Age of Pisces. Since the earth is moving in retrograde motion, we have just left the Age of Pisces, which marked the years 1-2000 AD. This time coincides with the age of Christ and Christianity. Pisces is considered the last sign of the zodiac, a compendium of all the signs that came before it, from Aries to Aquarius. Pisces is the sign known for universal love, compassion, self-sacrifice, altruism, creativity, intuition and deep spirituality. Pisces know the truth of the universe but can’t quite say why they know it. It doesn’t matter, for Pisces know that “truth” is always in flux. To Pisces, what is in the human heart is true, for it is true to the soul. Pisces is an introspective sign. This Piscean mindset has been the way humanity has approached the world since we evolved and has colored everything that we have encountered during that period.

Early Christians used the symbol of the fish (symbol of Pisces) as a secret symbol of their faith. The emphasis on washing of the feet as a ritual signifying purification of the spirit ties into Pisces symbolism as well, for Pisces rules the feet. Pisces “carry” the cares of others and often have sore feet. Christ spoke of his role as servant to his flock, which is also a very Pisces notion. Pisces says, “I believe,” whereas Aquarius, the age we are in now, says, “Prove it to me scientifically.” Christ’s mother Mary embodied all the qualities represented by the Pisces polarity of Virgo, namely, modesty, commitment to service, and acceptance of what must not be changed. In Pisces, there is a strong need for seclusion, and Christianity puts value on retreats, convents, cloisters or spiritual pilgrimages. Aquarius puts emphasis on group activities and community, thus we have the Internet and the eye of the global village which we call television. Aquarius is a very social sign. Pisces is something of a “psychic sponge.” Pisces like people too, but need regular time to themselves to rinse away the everyday cares they have absorbed.

  #astronomy    #ages  

A simply summary of the ages:

Every so many years, the Earth’s axis moves to face different constellations. Much like the other planets do. 
We don’t look at the Earth’s movement as just one person’s personal aspects. Like if your Venus is in Leo you’re flamboyant in love. We look at it how it effects society itself. 
We just left the age of Pisces.

 Pisces rules universal compassion, sacrifice of the individual Ego, and martyrdom. Pisces is a feminine sign, yet during the reign of Pisces we have seen the suppression and re-emergence of the feminine, and no story tells this quite as dramatically as the transformation of Mary Magdalene, the real story behind The DaVinci Code. The Church recently admitted that Mary Magdalene was not a prostitute but a true follower. However, when the Nag Hammadi scrolls were discovered and translated, it was revealed that Mary was more than a follower but an actual apostle, giving rise anew to theories of Mary having been wife to Jesus.

The story of the life and death of Jesus the Christ and the evolution of the religion that bears his name mirrors the Piscean age perfectly. Pisces is sign of the water element, and the origin of Christianity finds Jesus being baptized in a river, symbolizing the dissolution of the personal ego into the river of faith, a ritual that continues today. Even in pre-Christian times, the sacred wells of the British Isles were places where the gods and goddesses would be present. The teachings of Jesus express the Piscean values of compassion, universal love and brotherhood. However, last 2000 years have not always expressed those concepts in their highest form.

We are now introducing the Age of Aquarius… What will that hold for us?

  #astronomy    #ages  

The Great Ages of Astrology:

The equatorial bulge of the earth causes a shifting in the earth’s axis and the point at which the Sun at the vernal equinox points to the zodiacal constellations. This phenomenon is known as the “Precession” and creates the period of 25,920 years that we call the “Great Year.” The “Great Year” is divided into twelve “Great Ages” each of approximately 2160 years. Because of the “orb of influence,” or “orb,” which describes the fact that a change in sign makes itself known several degrees before the actual change (also known as the “cusp”), there is some flexibility to the 2160 figure.

  #ages    #astronomy  

Click here to anonymously share your opinion of AstralTwelve's content.